Bait-and-switch “$30 Film School” bootleg on eBay
A friend just wrote me and told me that he purchased an item on eBay called “Film School Low Budget eBook Guide” from a scumbag seller with the user ID: cr3ativo
The eBook turned out to be a bootleg of my “$30 Film School.” And this seller says they have “99 available.”
This user appears to be based in Australia. Anyone know who it is? He’s also selling a bunch of bootleg eBooks under fake names and covers.
I don’t mind so much if people give away copies of my stuff, but I think the idea of someone making money of it AND duping the users is icky. They made up this fake name and a fake cover (with a picture of an Academy Award, which is TOTALLY antithetical to the mission statement of my book.)
And then they used my own ad copy:
“You don’t need big bucks to make great stuff. Computers have made it possible to make great films on very little money. They say that whatever effects the big studios have are four years away from the desktop, that is, four years away from your computer desktop. Big effects at low prices are here now. But great effects aren’t what make a great movie. Neither is money…..”
from my book in their fake pitch.
I turned them in to eBay as selling bogus stuff.
=====-
FOLLOW UP ON OCTOBER 3rd:
eBay has removed the listing:
But not the user. User is still on there, apparently ripping off other authors and buyers.
But the guy who notified me about this scam, who got scammed by buying the book, has posted a comment about it on the seller’s feedback page:
And you can’t get those removed without going through eBay to do it.
October 3rd, 2007 at 12:41 am
The surest form of flattery…? Hmm…maybe not.
October 3rd, 2007 at 12:43 am
Yeah, maybe not.
I think that kids sharing free copies of my books/films/music etc, is flattery.
I think that people selling my book, under a fake scamy name, and a misleading cover, is scummy. To me, and to the buyer.
October 3rd, 2007 at 6:21 am
re-form Bomb, perform the book live, and allow tapers…
October 3rd, 2007 at 7:05 pm
That’s bullshit. I hope eBay shuts ‘em down.
October 3rd, 2007 at 7:15 pm
Please note update, above, with two new images at bottom of article.
Anyone wanna watch this guy’s site for me and post here if they delete his profile?
Thank you,
MWD
October 9th, 2007 at 10:31 am
6 days later and he is still selling:
http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZcr3ativoQQfrppZ50QQfsopZ1QQfsooZ1QQrdZ0?
December 4th, 2007 at 3:55 am
He’s not selling any items now. Maybe he got suspended.